For some users, Instagram can be a cluttered experience, filled with old, often embarrassing photos. To help remove that clutter, the photo sharing service on Tuesday introduced a new feature called Archive, which lets you move previously shared posts into a space visible only to you. Facebook-owned Instagram hopes that Archive will not only stop people from deleting their photos, but also make them more comfortable with sharing certain photos in the first place. Some users first spotted the feature last month, but is now available to all Android and iOS users running version 10.21 or newer versions of the app.
“Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time. With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter,” Instagram said in a post on Wednesday.
After updating the Instagram app to the latest version, you will be able to archive any of your shared posts by tapping the three dots seen on the top right corner of the post. Once archived, the post will be hidden from your grid and from the public, but you will be able to view it in the Archive section, which is accessible by tapping on the new Archive icon on the top right corner in your profile page.
Instagram says that the feature will let you remove the photos you don’t want without having to delete them. This lets you shape your profile to match your current taste, while at the same time keeps the archived ones safe for you to revisit later. You also have the option to move it back into the profile at any time by tapping the ‘Show on Profile’ option in Archive.
Archive is a bit like Snapchat’s Memories that was launched in 2016 which lets users save photos and videos that can later be uploaded to their Story.
It’s no secret that Instagram and other Facebook-owned services like WhatsApp and Messenger have been increasingly borrowing features from Snapchat. Archive follows features like Stories and face filters that draw inspiration from Snapchat.